bucket list · Music · Review · Thoughts

Viva La Vida

First of all, this may come in late, but nevertheless, Happy New Year! I hope 2017 started well for you.

What I like about new years is that it offers us hope that somehow this year, we can turn things around and make it better. And with better I mean, polished, impeccable and faultless – but in your own standard. That’s all we should be living with: To stand on our own and be happy with our choices.

I’m being too obvious here, but this post’s title is my favorite Coldplay song (aside from Yellow). If you read my previous post, you now know I spent New Year’s Eve in a Coldplay concert. Not a big deal.

I’ve been a long time fan that spanned  decades. I have admired musicians growing up but they were all a phase. This one I carried with me as I grew older. My emotions were in limbo for two weeks trying to score tickets so I can finally watch them and scream my heart out. I wept in euphoria when I got my hands on my front row tickets for #ColdplayAbuDhabi on NYE. I mean. I can’t. I just can’t.

I spent the next 35 days listening to their setlist (or their entire music catalogue) and reading reviews about their present tour. I was on full fan girl mode and binge reading/watching live performances. I’d be honest that it gets intense most of the time – I bought all of their records on iTunes so I can create my own AHFOD playlist.

What I like about the reviews and interviews is that, the band has been vocal about why this is their best show yet – 20 years together and seven albums later – it sure is.

I’ve been to a Jason Mraz concert, and Justin Timberlake, and Michael Bublé to name a few; and all of them were incredible. I knew I won’t be disappointed – I’d probably go nuts when shit gets real.

Days before game day, I had it all planned out – down to the last detail: what to eat, what to bring, what shoes to wear so I can last the whole night, sleep this much, etc. I was not going to let anything ruin my would-be perfect new year’s eve.

And then, it became real – I could hear my heart. We were 3.5 hours early and the line was already so long. Turns out, I may not be alone being this crazy. I managed to secure a nice little spot close to the stage and my tears were ready to flow, and this was more than 3 hours before Coldplay will come out. Can you imagine how I was when they started the show and were already in front of me? There were only two people who knew me there – Grace and her brother Gids – I issued a disclaimer about what to expect with me around, and they were totally cool with it. That was the bonus: I was with great company. And, the people around us are just as crazy – we all became friends at that moment. We had the best time.

Not only was Coldplay phenomenal and are incredibly talented on stage, the whole message of their show was LOVE – they handed out The Love Button to everyone. They talked about love and kindness, and how it’s more important now than it’s ever been. They’re total performers but you can also see that they are all amazing human beings – which is what I admire the most.

This was the most emotional bucket list I ever had, I am not over it until now. It set the bar high for the rest of the year.

One thing I kept that night (aside from the wristband, glow in the dark star and the photos/videos) is this: where there is a man, there is a place for kindness.

Believe in love.

x JD

PS.

2 thoughts on “Viva La Vida

  1. You took the words right out of my mouth! I was at the Las Vegas show, and it was fantastic! This is coming from someone who is not really a concert person. The only concert I’ve been to before this point was independent performances by my stepdad’s band. But they were always too loud for my taste. I loved Coldplay since falling in love with Viva la Vida back in 2009. The album was so freaking mesmerizing! I normally can’t listen to albums from beginning to end because it sounds the same and gets boring. Not in Coldplay’s case! It was one of the best experiences with music I have had! Even to this day! But I never even thought about seeing them live until I heard a live stream on Sirus in August. I looked at the website, but found it was too expensive. I didn’t want to spend over $100 because I didn’t have a job yet. The very next day, I got a job offer. I turned right back around and bought the ticket. I thought it would be a great way to end a very long and tedious job search. And it was! Even 4 months later, I still can’t stop talking about it! I got an unbelievable sense of euphoria that I haven’t felt in a long time! You could definitely feel the love too! However, probably the highlight of the night was when the guy to the left of me mid-show just randomly leaned over and asked what my shirt size was. I told him, and he left and came back with a shirt for me! I have no clue what compelled him to do it! I never even talked to him before that point! I tried to talk to him after the show, but I couldn’t find him. I still have that shirt! It was truly a night I will never forget. If they come back, I will buy the ticket in a heartbeat. I have been following the tour since the show, and I do have to say that you got the best show of the tour so far. The crowd participation completely outweighs the participation of my show. I’m jealous of you to be honest.

    Like

    1. Thank you for the kind words!

      I mean, right?!! They were beyond incredible – they definitely made my 2017. Don’t be jealous, I think they’re coming to the US in the summer – you can definitely check them out. I got tickets for their Tokyo show in April. I really hope they will not stop making music though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

